PSL 4: Shahid Afridi, Kumar Sangakkara released

Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi and Sri Lanka great Kumar Sangakkara were among a host of high-profile names to have been released by their respective franchises ahead of the Pakistan Super League Season 4 drafts. Mohammad Hafeez, Shakib Al Hasan and Kieron Pollard also found themselves back in the pool ahead of next week's draft before which the franchises were asked to trim down their squads to 10 players.

For the next PSL season, a franchise is allowed to have only up to three platinum, three diamond, three gold, and five silver category players along with two emerging players, in the final squad that is assembled post the PSL drafts. The Karachi Kings went with the option of retaining Babar Azam for the Platinum category along with Mohammad Amir and Colin Munro, hence deciding to let Afridi leave.

The draft for the Season for of Pakistan Super League will be held in Islamabad on November 20, with the matches scheduled to begin on February 14, 2019 in the UAE. This year, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), is looking to host about eight matches across Lahore and Karachi, with the season finale taking place in the latter city.

Islamabad United

Platinum: Luke Ronchi, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf
Diamond: Asif Ali, Mohammad Sami
Gold: Rumman Raees (Relegated to Gold category)
Silver: Hussain Talat (Ambassador), Waqas Maqsood, Sahbizada Farhan, Zafar Gohar

Karachi Kings

Platinum: Colin Munro, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam
Diamond: Colin Ingram (Ambassador), Imad Wasim, Usman Shinwari
Gold: Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara

Lahore Qalandars

Platinum: Fakhar Zaman
Diamond: Yasir Shah
Gold: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Anton Devcich, Rahat Ali
Silver: Agha Salman, Sohail Akhtar, Hassan Khan

Peshawar Zalmi

Platinum: Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali
Diamond: Daren Sammy, Kamran Akmal (Ambassador)
Gold: Liam Dawson
Silver: Umaid Asif, Khalid Usman
Emerging: Sameen Gul 

Quetta Gladiators

Platinum: Sarfraz Ahmed, Sunil Narine
Diamond: Shane Watson (Mentor), Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz
Gold: Rilee Rossouw (Ambassador), Umar Akmal
Silver: Anwar Ali (Relegation Request Successful), Saud Shakil

Sixth PSL Team (formerly Multan Sultans)

Platinum: Shoaib Malik
Diamond: Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan (Ambassador)
Gold: Shan Masood
Silver: Mohammad Abbas, M. Irfan Khan, Umar Siddiq
Emerging: Mohammad Junaid