IPL 2019: Sunrisers Hyderabad release Wriddhiman Saha, Alex Hales

Sunrisers Hyderabad, winner of the 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL), on Thursday evening (November 15) announced the list of players they have retained and released ahead of the 2019 season of the cash-rich league.

Aussie vice-captain David Warner is part of the 17 players retained by the team, while SRH have released nine players including the trade-off of Shikhar Dhawan to Delhi Daredevils. While Wriddhiman Saha is a big name released by the franchise, the SRH think tank also decided to let go of some famous overseas players in Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite and Chris Jordan.

SRH have also managed to trade three players - Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar and Abhishek Sharma ( all from Delhi Daredevils in exchange for Dhawan). With Warner returning it is expected that he will takeover captaincy duties from Williamson.

Retained Players: Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Manish Pandey, Natarajan, Ricky Bhui, Sandeep Sharma, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Yusuf Pathan, Billy Stanlake, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shakib Al Hassan, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar

Released Players: Sachin Baby, Tanmay Agarwal, Wriddhiman Saha, Chris Jordan, Carlos Brathwaite, Alex Halex, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Shikhar Dhawan

Traded: Shikhar Dhawan to Delhi Daredevils for Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem

Salary cap available: 9.70 cr

Available slots: 5; Indian 3, Overseas 2