IPL 2019: KXIP retains Chris Gayle, releases Yuvraj Singh

Kings XI Punjab has decided to retain nine of its key players which includes captain Ravichandran Ashwin and Chris Gayle for next year’s IPL.

Along with Ashwin and Gayle, the Mohali-based franchise has retained K.L. Rahul, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Andrew Tye, Mujeeb-ur Rahman, Ankeet Rajpoot and David Miller. However, it released a group of 12 players, including stars like Yuvraj Singh and Aaron Finch.

Kings XI CEO, Satish Menon, told that the decision was taken to focus on youth. “We are building a younger team. Apart from Gayle, Miller and Ashwin, the others are in their twenties. So, that’s the reason we went with youngsters,” Menon said.

RETAINED: R. Ashwin, K.L. Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Andrew Tye, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Ankeet Rajpoot, Chris Gayle and David Miller.

RELEASED: Yuvraj Singh, Aaron Finch, Mohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath, Pradeep Sahoo, Mayank Dagar and Manzoor.

Traded: Marcus Stoinis for Mandeep Singh

Salary cap available: 36.20 cr

Available slots: 15; Indian 11, Overseas 4