Delhi Daredevils renamed as Delhi Capitals ahead of IPL 2019

Delhi Daredevils, part of the Indian Premier League since the opening edition in 2008, has been renamed as Delhi Capitals, the franchise announced on Tuesday (December 4).

During a function for the announcement of the new name, the franchise also released a new logo.

After finishing the 11 season of IPL this year without a title as well, GMR owned franchise sold 50% of their stakes to JSW who have come on board as the new co-owners.

Having retained 14 players from the previous team, Delhi can fill up to ten slots - seven Indian positions and three overseas spots - during the auction on December 18. They have a purse of INR. 25. 50 Crore remaining, the second most available for a team in the upcoming auction.