Best of Cricket History - Birth of World Cup


In 1975 the first Cricket World Cup was contested in England as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987.

The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50.

In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments.