Ajit Agarkar and others resign as Mumbai selectors

By Cricnwin Staff


All members of Mumbai’s senior selection committee tendered their resignations just hours before the Mumbai Cricket Association’s (MCA) ad-hoc committee met on Friday. The selection panel was headed by former India fast bowler Ajit Agarkar and also comprised former India spinner Nilesh Kulkarni, Sunil More and Ravi Thakkar.

According to PTI, all four members sent in their resignations on Friday afternoon. The development came just a day after the 2018/19 domestic season ended with the conclusion of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

The selectors were under pressure after a Special General Meeting of the MCA member units had passed a resolution to sack them. The Agarkar-led panel, however, was supported by the Cricket Improvement Committee. Before the ad-hoc committee could take any decision on the matter, the selectors decided to step down.

Mumbai had a disappointing 2018/19 season. They won the Vijay Hazare Trophy but fared poorly in the Ranji Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The 41-time winners failed to make it to the knockout stage of the Ranji Trophy after winning just one of their eight group games.