Indian Premier League: Tournament History (From 2008 - 2018)

By CricnWin

Here’s a look at the previous 11 editions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) -


The first season of IPL could not have hoped for a better launchpad than Brendon McCullum’s stunning 73-ball 158 in the tournament opener between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). The innings will forever be etched in every cricket fan's memory. On that night, fans from all over the world got a glimpse of what the IPL was going to be. What added to the glow of the league was Rajasthan Royals’ superb performance. Captaining the franchise with the lowest budget, Warne led the team to glory.


Cricket and controversy go hand in hand and the IPL was no different. In the first season, we saw a major controversy when Harbhajan Singh was banned for the entire tournament after slapping S Sreesanth. This season started with another controversy - the Indian government expressed its helplessness to provide security due to the general elections and the tournament had to be shifted to South Africa in a month’s time. Deccan Chargers, who ended the first season at the last place, finally played to their potential to canter to victory, beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. Captained by Adam Gilchrist, the Chargers were well served by the likes of Rohit Sharma, Herschelle Gibbs and Andrew Symonds.


The tournament was won by Chennai Super Kings, who defeated Mumbai Indians in the final. The Purple Cap went to Pragyan Ojha (21 wickets) of Deccan Chargers, while the Orange Cap was won by Sachin Tendulkar (618 runs) of the Mumbai Indians.


Chennai Super Kings won the title for the second time with a 58-run win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.


Before the start of the season, the BCCI terminated Kochi Tuskers Kerala's contract due to financial issues.

But this didn't hamper the tournament or its glory. After Gayle's heroics in the previous season, it was another player from the Caribbean - Sunil Narine - who stole the limelight. Narine was the player of the tournament with 24 wickets in 15 matches at an average of 13.50 and economy of 5.47. Prior to winning the competition in 2012, Kolkata Knight Riders were among the worst performers, constantly finishing in the second half of the table. The year 2012 gave them the much-needed break and the Kolkata-based franchise has become one of the most successful teams in the league.


This was Sachin Tendulkar’s last IPL and everyone wanted him to win it once for obvious reasons. Mumbai Indians, who were yet to win the title, did manage to lay their hands on the trophy by beating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final at the Eden Gardens. However, the title triumph was soon overshadowed by a spot-fixing scandal. S Sreesanth and his Rajasthan Royals teammates Ankeet Chavan and Ajit Chandila were arrested for alleged spot-fixing and were consequently banned by the BCCI. Gurunath Meiyappan, son-in-law of the then BCCI president N Srinivasan and a top management official of Chennai Super Kings, was arrested on charges of betting, fraud and forgery. Raj Kundra, co-owner of Rajasthan Royals, was also found guilty as IPL endured its worst phase.


Due to the general elections, the early part of the competition had to be shifted to UAE.

The season saw a spirited Kings XI Punjab side giving all the teams a run for their money with the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Virender Sehwag, David Miller firing on all cylinders under the captaincy of George Bailey. On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders continued to enhance their reputation as the new powerhouse in the competition. Deservedly, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders fought in the final with the latter coming out on top after a thrilling contest.


Even before the start of the tournament, Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) set the tone by buying Yuvraj Singh for a record price of INR 16 crore. The tournament then lived up to its expectations with more than half the teams vying for the top four spots till the very end. In fact, the final four were decided only after the final match of the league stage.

Mumbai Indians sensationally recovered from a four-match winless start to clinch the title. Captain Rohit led from the front, scoring a half-century at a strike rate of 192.30 as the Mumbai-based franchise defeated Chennai Super Kings to win their second title.


The tournament saw two new teams - Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions - after the Supreme Court suspended Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for two seasons due to corruption charges. Gujarat Lions hit the ground running and finished the league stage at the top of the table. David Warner and Virat Kohli, on the other hand, singled-handedly dragged their teams to the playoffs. While Warner scored over 800 runs, Kohli nearly scored 1,000 runs including four centuries. In the final, Warner’s Sunrisers Hyderabad prevailed over Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore to lift their maiden trophy.


The 10th season of IPL started with Rising Pune Supergiant purchasing Ben Stokes for INR 14.5 crores, thus making the England star the highest paid overseas player. And what a buy he turned out, contributing with both bat and ball to help his side make it to the final before he returned home to join the England side. Stokes scored 316 runs at an average of 31.6 and claimed 12 wickets to bag the MVP award.

Before that, the Supergiant had sensationally replaced MS Dhoni with Steve Smith as skipper. And although the move was widely criticised, it paid off. RPS defeated Mumbai Indians in the playoffs to reach the final, only to lose to Rohit Sharma's side in the summit clash.


The last season of the IPL saw the return of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals and both the teams hit the ground running. While the Super Kings went on to win the trophy, the Royals also did extremely well to make it to the playoffs. Another team which stood out was Sunrisers Hyderabad. With David Warner banned (for ball-tampering), Kane Williamson led the side from the front, finishing the season as the top run-scorer. Sunrisers Hyderabad's impressive season ended with a defeat to Super Kings in the final.

Powered by Froala Editor